Throwback Thursday…the hazards of marrying an arson investigator

 

Flashover, cover

Cast your mind back to 2008. Do you remember it? Yep, it’s foggy for me, too. It was my second book for Harlequin’s Love Inspired Suspense and I was a rookie, for sure. I tackled a book with a theme familiar in the Mentink world…firefighting.  Here’s the blurb below.
Why is a kind-hearted savant setting fire to an ordinary book? Recuperating firefighter Ivy Beria is determined to find out. But then the young man, Moe, goes missing–and his only friend turns up dead. Ivy is sure the double mystery is linked to the string of numbers Moe chanted before he vanished. She asks her best friend, computer expert Tim Carnelli, to uncover a pattern. They make two shocking discoveries: they have unexpected romantic feelings for one another and Moe is in serious danger. They’d better find him fast. Or the truth–and their dreams–will go up in smoke.
Since Papa Bear worked for the fire service for more than 30 years, I figured writing those blazing inferno scenes would be easy peasy. Wrong! Papa Bear has the annoying tendency to want to edit my glorious fire scenes for scientific correctness. No, there really wouldn’t be an explosion. Actually, the smoke would be so thick they wouldn’t be able to see that villain lurking under the stairs. No, you can’t really start an arson fire that way. Maddening! In spite of (and largely thanks to) Papa Bear’s comments, I managed to finish the book. If any technical errors slipped through, they are mine, not his.

Do you have an expert in your life to offers advice? What are they an expert on? Do share! 🙂 

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sarah Postma on October 30, 2014 at 4:47 pm

    My parents are experts on giving me advice in life :). I couldn’t ask for anybody better than them :).

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Laurie on October 29, 2014 at 4:38 am

    My dad is my expert on work matters.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by lisabetz88 on October 23, 2014 at 5:33 pm

    My son is in the process of becoming a physical therapist. His knowledge of anatomy has already come in handy. I have not needed to consult either my engineer husband or my research chemist father for my first-century historical novel.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Posted by Valri Western on October 23, 2014 at 3:27 pm

    My husband is an accountant/controller/manager of finance! You can bet we have a lot of money talk at our house. Not always what I want to talk about….. but our finances are in great shape 🙂 even if it’s a little boring to me!!!!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Yes, my husband is an expert on antique firearms. Since I write historicals, mostly set in pioneer times, I’ve called on him often for help. His suggestions usually didn’t foil my plot lines!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

