12 Days of Christmas…for writers

 

Christmas gift

 

Writers write. No news flash there, but many folks are surprised at how much time we also spend on promoting/marketing our books. “You mean your publisher doesn’t do that?” Sure they do, but they also expect that we authors are going to put in our share of effort to get the word out to the public. Unless you’re a Stephen King or a Debbie Macomber, most of us wee little authors are going to spend as much time promoting as we do writing (without the benefit of a publicist.) It’s tiring, I’ll tell you. So here’s a list of the 12 Days of Christmas treats for writers. (Feel free to hum along!)

On the 12th Day of Christmas, my true love gave to me…..

12 volunteers to review a new release in exchange for a complimentary copy.

11 folks who actually follow through and post that review (less one because sometimes things happen in life that you can’t control.)

10 people to comment on the blog

9 Facebook likes for the latest post

8 Facebook shares of “new release” information

7 new Twitter followers

6 minutes to chat with a reader at a book signing

5 nifty Goodreads recommendations

4 requests for blog interviews

3 amazing new blog post ideas

2 deadlines met ahead of schedule

1 new contract to write

Whew! That certainly would be an amazing twelve days! So just curious…what do you pay attention to in terms of author promotions? Facebook posts? Tweets? Goodreads/Amazon reviews? Those little bookmarks and magnets thingys authors are always handing out? What sort of author promotions interest you? Giving away a VISA gift card and a signed book this month! 

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Suzan Michet on December 6, 2014 at 7:47 pm

    I love following a blog, as it gives me a sense of connection to the author. I also pay attention to past experience … if I liked one of the author’s books then I will check what else she/he is writing or has written. I love author appearances … last month took my son to a Dav Pilkey signing at a bookstore (he’s the guy that wrote the “Captain Underpants” series, and my son (who is not a reader) had a blast.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sarah on December 6, 2014 at 3:58 pm

    I keep up with the facebook posts as much as possible, and I also enjoy the bookmarks and others things authors give with their books :).

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by Samantha B on December 4, 2014 at 4:41 pm

    I will often read review before deciding if a book interests me or not. But if I know that the book is clean or Christian sometimes I’ll just decide from the summary.
    I love every contests authors offer, especially giveaways 😉
    I also love when authors and/or publicists offer excerpt from the books.
    Finally I enjoy Q&A, because it’s fun to get to know the authors and what inspired their books 🙂
    Oh and I love your blog posts 😛 especially the ones with questions addressed to your readers!

    Like

    Reply

  4. We read the Amazon reviews before buying a book. Readers sometimes disagree wildly on their opinion of a new book, but the comments will give you the gist of what they liked and didn’t. So many books! So little time!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Posted by Pat Moore on December 1, 2014 at 7:07 pm

    I’ve found that favorite authors usually recommend other authors that I normally like. Also, I read what friends are recommending, I read a few good reviews and then the bad ones. If I receive a free book from an author I will read it. The only way I won’t leave a review is because I didn’t like the book. I will never leave a bad review. Just because the book wasn’t to my taste doesn’t mean it won’t appeal to someone else. I also will leave reviews on books that I’ve bought myself and thought they were terrific. I read my first book by you due to being chosen to review one of your books through http://www.bookfun.org. You immediately went on my list of favorite authors. I’ve enjoyed your writing. Hope you like the reviews I left. I do go to sites that promote Christian authors and see what they have written, read some of the reviews and see if its something I would like. I’m an avid reader and love Christian fiction: Amish, mystery, suspense, warm cozy feeling books, historical and some fantasy (unicorns & mermaids-space travel). I’ve almost quit reading anything in the general romance genre. I prefer my books to be spiritually motivated, clean language & no indepth bedroom scenes.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Posted by Valri Western on December 1, 2014 at 6:53 pm

    I love Facebook and getting to know an author. I also love Goodreads. I enjoy very much when an author sends me a book to review – pretty much they have hooked me for life! Before they have given me that book, I have researched their work fully and know if I will like it so it’s a win-win!!!! I will be “ever faithful” in promoting them and buying their books or reviewing them for there on out. I do discriminate though and don’t just take on books “willy-nilly”! There are genres that I don’t like and wont read so hang out on lots of sites – Goodreads, publishing sites, author sites, etc. and then choose for myself!

    Like

    Reply

  7. This made me chuckle. I am a fan of Facebook and Goodreads. I like to see what authors have to say through my Facebook notifications, and I find out a lot about authors who I friend or follow on Goodreads. Goodreads may be my favorite way of ACQUAINTING myself with authors, and communicating with them. Admittedly, book bling, free books and gift cards are a huge incentive for me to read an author’s book because there are SO MANY new books and authors that I need something to narrow down my choices. And if an author is kind enough to give me a book or some other kind of promotional item, and I promise to read her book and review it, I’ll do that because I appreciate the gift she’s given me. However this is not always the case of course. Sometimes I just see a book, like the cover and description and buy it solely for that reason. Nevertheless, I do have to enjoy the author’s book(s), or no matter what she offers I won’t be interested in reading her books in the future. Oh….and when I get a gift card I usually spend it on more books!! If it’s Starbucks or something, I sip while READING!! ( :

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

