Who knew Tom Hanks had a passion for typewriters?

 

image

Write about your passions. It’s great advice to follow and a case in point is uber actor Tom Hanks who will pen and publish a book of short stories for Alfred Knopf. The stories will all revolve around Hank’s obsession, his typewriter collection! Hanks has even introduced an app that will make the sounds of a typewriter clacking as you bang away on your computer (Hanx Writer.) Pretty neat when fiction and fascination come together.

Second case in point. For the first time in the sixteen year history of the Samuel Johnson Award, the prize has been awarded to a memoir, H is for Hawk. Helen Macdonald won the coveted award for writing about her passion for falconry and how it helped her grieve over her father’s death. You see? What moves the writer will also move the reader.

Have you ever read a book where there was some interesting glimpse into a particular hobby or passion? (I’ve noticed fiction books featuring everything from knitting to horseracing.) If you could feature one of your passions in a fiction book, what would it be? All comments get you entered in the December drawing for a VISA gift card and a book.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shanda on December 12, 2014 at 11:35 am

    Tomatoes. I have over 700 different varieties of tomato seeds. Yeah, I try to plant them. Let us not to the sanity of obsessed minds admit impediments. Obsession is not obsession which alters when ridicule finds you buying or reading about yet another must-have. Nor bends with the spouse’s will to remove . . . . 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • That is so awesome, Shanda! I bought seeds when we toured Thomas Jefferson’s gardens and I totally obsessed about those things! I nurtured and fussed and I relished eating every last one!

      Dana Mentink award winning fiction author http://www.danamentink.com

      >

      Like

      Reply

      • Posted by Shanda on December 13, 2014 at 9:09 pm

        I collect and grow so many heirloom seeds/plants, not just my fave tomatoes. I usually garden on about an acre. I’m a total garden nerd, collecting local heirlooms and endangered beans and tomatoes. I had wonderful tomatoes this year–100 varieties tried. My favorite is called Stump of the World–Biblical reference to Jesse. Last year and this year I couldn’t get enough of Black Cherry. Very good little cherry/salad type. And produced like mad with little attention. Try them sometime if you get the chance. : )

        Like

      • That’s amazing, Shanda! Here in California, I had some trouble with blossom drop, but a friend of mine suggested calcium which really helped. I will try the Black Cherry if I can find some!

        Dana Mentink award winning fiction author http://www.danamentink.com

        >

        Like

  2. Posted by Jeannie on December 9, 2014 at 5:20 pm

    I think I would like to write a book that included something about missions whether it’s local, national or international missionary work.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by Samantha B on December 8, 2014 at 10:39 pm

    I believe every Christian book authors are writing about their passion: their passion for Christ. They may had some other things that they like to the story, but the main point is that if they wanted to write Christian books, they must be passionate.

    In fact, if you look up the etymology of the word passion, it initially referred to Christ’s passion, as in His suffering. One could say that to accept to suffer that much to save us sinners, Christ had to be passionate about the human kind.
    I think we should all return that passion, especially with Christmas coming 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  4. I’d love to feature my passion for reading in a fiction book. I love reading books about books, bookstores, etc. I’d like to pretend I own an Inn or B&B, so maybe I could feature something like that.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Gardening and growing things is my passion. That would fit nicely in many novels.
    In fact, this helps to give a sense of place to tell what is growing, etc.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

