Ah research! Visiting a grand old dame!

imageimage

It’s a tough job, but somebody’s got to do it. In preparing to write a four book detective series for Harlequin’s Love Inspired Suspense, I have sent myself on a trip to Coronado, California. I’ve toured the highways and byways of this little island town, and some other spots on the gorgeous California coast. One of the best parts was coming to know this grand lady….The Hotel Del Coronado, affectionately nicknamed The Del. Here are some interesting facts about the grand lady!

The Hotel del Coronado….

is the second largest wooden structure in the U.S.

-opened in 1888 and was enjoyed as a fishing and hunting resort.

-hostel Charlie Chaplin, the Prince of Wales and even Charles Lindbergh when he was honored here after his historic 1927 solo Atlantic flight.

-was the setting of the film Some Like it Hot, featuring Marilyn Monroe, Jack Lemmon and Tony Curtis.

Do you have any historic sites where you live? Would love to hear about them! Giving away a VISA gift card and signed book THIS WEEK!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Valri Western on December 30, 2014 at 3:49 am

    I live near Portland, OR and there is all kind of historical stuff around here, especially Lewis and Clark things! I love it! I am a history buff and I look for historical things wherever I go….it’s my passion! I was ecstatic when my youngest daughter became a high school history teacher this year as she graduated from college 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  2. My work in progress features many of Ohio’s stations on the Underground Railroad. I have a locally famous one, the Hanby House, in my hometown. I toured it as a child. Benjamin Hanby even wrote a ballad, My Darling Nellie Gray, which was sung during the Civil War.

    Like

    Reply

  3. What a gorgeous place. I’m jealous. It sounds like a wonderful setting for your stories.

    Alaska is a fairly young place, so our “historical” places aren’t nearly so old. Still, it’s fun to visit the Van Glider hotel in Seward (built in 1916) and other old buildings.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

