Throwback Thursday…in which I chat with an Olympian.

 

image

Write a romantic suspense novel about the Winter Olympics? Why yes, I said! I have always been enchanted with the Winter Games since I saw Scott Hamilton do his backflip and Apolo Anton Ohno become the most decorated winter athlete of all time. I knew the protag would be a speed skater, for sure. I was fortunate enough to “cyber” meet the lovely Sugar Todd, a long track speed skater who competed in the last Olympics and is continuing to train on the U.S. Team. Her positive spirit and love for the sport inspired me (and helped a lot with those technical issues!) Here’s the blurb.

Speed skater Laney Thompson still has nightmares about the car crash that almost shattered her lifelong dream. But as she’s poised to compete in the world’s most important games, she finds worse trouble. Someone wants her out of contention…badly. Laney won’t let anything stop her—not sabotage, a stalker or partial amnesia. As she and her brooding trainer Max Blanco strive to overcome past tragedy, the ice between them starts to melt. But as the race draws closer, a killer becomes more desperate, and a race for the gold becomes a race for their lives!

http://www.amazon.com/Race-Gold-Love-Inspired-Suspense/dp/0373675917/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1420590553&sr=8-1&keywords=Race+for+the+gold

Do you recall watching any Olympic athletes over the years? If you had to compete in an Olympic sport, which would it be? (Personally, I would love to try curling!) All comments to the blog get you entered in the January contest for a Starbuck’s card and signed book. 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Samantha B on January 10, 2015 at 6:48 pm

    The first Olympics I recall watching are the one of 2004 in Athens. I was 10 years old then. I love watching the Olympics! I always watch it 🙂
    I don’t really follow athletes, but I always cheer for my Canadian athletes! 😉
    I don’t know what sport I would compete in though…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

