Who’s your fave mom from books or TV?

image

Mother’s Day…that sentimental holiday in which we honor the perfect women who raised us, always encouraging, graceful, godly…except when they weren’t. After reading the stream of FB posts about all those perfect mothers out there, I began to feel a little inadequate in my own maternal duties, so I cast my mind over the various fictional mothers I’ve come across in books and on TV. Are they perfect, grace filled women? Absolutely…except when they weren’t. Do you know these famous mothers?

1. Margaret March, Little Women, by Louise May Alcott
Raising four girls with no money, a husband fighting in the Civil War, all with a patient smile on her face and never a sharp word? Marmee…you are the pinnacle of the Hallmark card mother.

2.  Bernadette Fox, Where’d You Go, Bernadette?, by Maria Semple. This mother is on the other end of the spectrum, in that she completely disappears, yet the reader is still convinced that she’s funny, creative, loving and worth finding. She steps out of the role that confines her and though her behavior is unforgivable, the author makes it understandable.

3. Claire Huxtable, The Cosby Show. Personally, I find Claire to be right about where I’d like my own mothering to be. She’s patient…to a point. Fun loving, dedicated, goal oriented, and relaxed enough to enjoy all the quirks and foibles of her own family.

So what about you? Can you think of any mothers from books or TV that stick out in your mind? It’s triple prize month and all comments get you entered in the May drawing for a book, gift cards and a spring treat. 

experience.http://www.redbookmag.com/life/mom-kids/news/a15081/notable-novel-mothers/

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Valri Western on May 12, 2015 at 11:17 pm

    I loved Margaret March and SO many other mothers in both TV and books. Too many to remember & name! However, I’ve always admired my own mother more than anyone else! This year I got to spend Mother’s Day with my fantastic mother for the first time in probably 20 years! All my siblings were together for the day because my nephew got married on the Sat. before! What a special experience!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Suzan Michet on May 12, 2015 at 1:33 pm

    Hey, what about “Ma” from Little House on the Prairie ?

    Like

    Reply

  3. There was a sitcom that I watched in the 70’s called What’s Happening. There was a mom, Mabel “mama” Thomas raising a son and daughter alone. She worked hard to provide for them, and they respected and loved her. She was a no-nonsense lady and expected her kids to mind their manners, but she always showed them tender affection and did all she could to take care of them. I still fondly remember that show and “mama.”

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

