Going to the movies? Get ready to recline in style.

 

movie

It’s time for summer at the cinema, but gosh! The movies aren’t what they used to be. Remember plodding into the theater across sticky floors and hoping no one super tall would sit in front of you? Or maybe you can cast your mind even further back to the drive-in experience? My oldest kiddo, Yogi Bear, just got a job working at a local theater and zowie! The theater experience has changed! The seats are all big, blocky recliners! Can you believe that? Also, when you buy tickets, you choose which seat will be yours instead of the ‘pile in and hope there aren’t only front row seats left!’ We’re talking luxury here. While it was certainly comfortable, I found it a bit weird to be sitting with my feet up, lounging next to a complete stranger!

So what do you think of these luxurious movie theater changes? What was the last movie you saw in a theater? Would love to hear your answer! June prize winners (of a signed book and July surprise) announced on Wednesday! 

15 responses to this post.

  1. ThE last movie I saw was in a luxury theater. No choosing seats ahead of time (didn’t know that was possible) but each row was tiered so you had a good view from everywhere. What they DID have was a long counter in front of all seats (all rocked…) with a full menu to order from & the food was GREAT! We also have theaters where there are sofa’s! LOL

    Like

    Reply

    • I should have also said–they had little pencils to write your order and a place to clip your order, so they would see you had ordered something. Then your order was delivered right to your seat! There was also a space in front of each row, so the servers could walk through taking orders and/or deliver them. A little more expensive, but not bad.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Posted by Rhonda on June 30, 2015 at 3:35 am

    Into The Woods was the last movie I saw at the movie theater. I’ve never been to a luxury seat theater…..actually looking forward to the experience!!

    Like

    Reply

  3. When I go to the movies , it’s in Winchester Virginia at the Alamo . We get great service for food and drink from our seats which are okay , but a little squishy though ! The last movie I saw there was PAUL BLART – MALL COP 2 …

    Like

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jeannie on June 29, 2015 at 9:41 pm

    Wow! I didn’t know about movie theaters where you can choose your seat in advance! I’ve heard of the ones where you can order a meal, and it is served to you that your seat. The last movie I saw was the latest Fast and Furious movie. I went with my sister. It good, but we were distracted by which scenes were really Paul Walker and which ones were done by his brothers.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Posted by Suzan Michet on June 29, 2015 at 8:50 pm

    We have a variety of theaters here as we are in “the big city” 🙂 We have a discount theatre that is the basement of a mall that is affordable, having movies that have been out for a while, and reasonable priced snacks (two people can go for $20 including snacks). Then we have the other end, which has the reserved seats you mentioned, recliner style, and high end snacks available including wine ! Middle of the road are the most common with no reserved seats but good stadium type seating with your typical overpriced snacks. The most recent movie I saw was “Avengers Age of Ultron” and it was good … and we didn’t go to the high end theatre ! (I have never actually been to a movie there).

    Like

    Reply

  6. We have a number of “luxury” theaters in our area. One of them even has attendants that take your food order and then it’s delivered to you while you’re watching the movie. The process is flawless. The food is great – salads, sandwiches, pizza, pasta, etc.; a full menu selection. The two-seaters can double as love seats, and I enjoy sitting in them with my husband. There are small tables attached to the chairs to hold the food and drinks. I really like the experience. The setup and seats are comfortable and the theater is clean. The theater is known as Studio Movie Grill (SMG). I think it’s a chain. I believe the last movie I went to see was Selma. We tried to go see San Andreas but the time we wanted was sold out. That was a couple of weeks ago.

    Like

    Reply

  7. Posted by Samantha B on June 29, 2015 at 4:36 pm

    Wow! Theaters where I live haven’t improve that much 😉 We don’t have recliner seats and most of the time we don’t choose our places when we buy our tickets 😛 But we are always able to find good seats and and most of the time the seats are placed in a way that a tall person in front of me would keep me from seeing the screen (which is a good things since I’m really not that tall) So I’d say that our theaters still need some improvements, but I agree with you it must be weird to recline next to a complete stranger 🙂
    That last I went to the theater was last week and I saw San Andreas (great movie by the way)!

    Like

    Reply

    • Ooooh! We’ve got so many earthquakes here, I’m not sure I’d want to see a movie about “the big one.” The last movie I saw was Jurassic Park. No local dinosaur invasions that I’m aware of, so that movie was okay for me! Ha! 🙂

      Dana Mentink award winning fiction author http://www.danamentink.com

      >

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

