What’s your idea of a vacation?

 

image

Summer vacation! That phrase sparks wild enthusiasm in the education community. As a third grade teacher I can tell you it does in my world. Extra time to read? Write? Hang out with my highschoolers who are temporarily freed from piles of homework? Sweet! Vacation isn’t really vacation, of course, for those who are familiar with the teaching biz. There are conferences, planning times, classrooms to be overhauled, etc, but still, it’s a nice break from the frantic pace of schooling.

People often ask if I get vacations from writing. Well…I’m not totally sure that is possible. Yes, I enjoy trips (Yosemite and Tahoe this summer) but do I really ever stop writing? Physically yes. I leave my laptop home, but since my brain comes along, there’s never reimageally a down time. I’m a passionate imaginer, and I don’t really want to take a vacation from that. I’m not sure I could. At times, I’ve felt guilty about it. Why can’t you put your imagination on vacation, Dana? I don’t know why, but I just can’t do it.

So what is a vacation to you? A special trip? A day off from work to focus on home matters? I would love to hear your thoughts. This week is the last chance to comment on the blog to win the signed book and ‘boat in a bottle’ necklace. Winner announced this weekend!

 

 

 

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Suzan Michet on July 31, 2015 at 3:35 am

    I went to a spa for the day last summer, hubby stayed home with the kids, it was lovely.

    I will admit I enjoy the family road trips too, would love to do Disney/Orlando again !

    Like

    Reply

    • I’ve not been to Disney World yet. Will have to take a crack at that someday! 🙂

      Dana Mentink award winning fiction author http://www.danamentink.com

      >

      Like

      Reply

    • Posted by Pat Merritt on August 10, 2015 at 3:50 pm

      A vacation is just relaxing and reading at home. Why? Because if we go anywhere I’m the driver. Husband’s eyesight prevents him from driving. My son does take us on vacations where I do not drive. I enjoy those times, but you live out of your suitcase!
      Not my cup of tea; however, I won’t turn down a “free ride”. I can read all the way.
      Since I retired in June, 1997 I have read 1,353 books; plus some on my e-reader. But I prefer to hear “that paper swish.! In your quarterly Newsletter please talk about your dog. I love animals. I have a black cat named Sheba. She is a little strange, but I love her, Pat

      Like

      Reply

      • Wow, Pat! That’s a lot of books! I’m very impressed!

        My dog is a little strange, too. She’s getting very old now (14 + which is old for a German Shepherd) but I just adore her. It’s hard to watch her aging.

        Thanks for your sweet post, Pat!

        Dana Mentink award winning fiction author http://www.danamentink.com

        >

        Like

  2. Posted by Cindy Swanson on July 30, 2015 at 9:08 pm

    A vacation is anywhere you can go to have downtime and forget about work.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Vacation is travel to some interesting spot as a tourist, maybe one that dovetails with a historical novel I have in the works. Yes, my brain doesn’t quit, either; in fact, a vacation stimulates it in new ways.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Posted by Mary Ambrose on July 27, 2015 at 2:34 pm

    Time at a quiet beach to gather myself together and refocus my life.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Posted by Jane Squires on July 27, 2015 at 1:10 pm

    Two weeks away from home at oldest daughter’s. Snuggling with grandsons I haven’t seen in year

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

