Top Three Irritating Things About Writers

 

 

image

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s okay. I can write about this because I do these things regularly and no doubt irritate friends and loved ones all the time. Writers have certain characteristics that can drive you up the wall. Here are the top three:

1. We’re stubborn about words. Yep, we’re gonna retype that email, text, or Post-it note because “effervescent” is just a better word choice than “sparkling.” You should see us struggle over thank you notes, let alone passages in our novels. It’s annoying, especially to those number oriented folks who see words as strictly utilitarian. To writers, words are the stuff of magic, so we are going to annoy the beejeebers out of you trying to land on the perfect one.

2. We have ulterior motives. You think that fun day trip to the city is just a chance for some rest and relaxation. Uh, no. As it turns out, we’ve got the perfect scene brewing in chapter three of our current work in progress, but it’s going to occur in San Francisco’s business district so we need to go immerse ourselves in that location for a while. It’s not that we’re using our together time with you for other purposes exactly. It really is more fun having you to share the adventure with, just don’t be surprised if that giant soft pretzel we’re eating near the Embarcadero doesn’t appear in chapter three.

3. We are going to market our books…endlessly. Yep, you’re going to see mentions of our darling literary babies on our websites, our Facebook pages, our Twitter accounts, our blogs (see below), perhaps on the back of our cars (Got books? Check out http://www.danamentink.com) and in our email signature lines. I know it’s SUPER ANNOYING and guess what? We find it annoying, too, but that’s the dark side of writing. Authors that don’t sell books aren’t authors for very long. Writing means promoting. Incessantly. We can’t stand it either, but there you go.

There are plenty of irritating qualities about other jobs too, right? Teachers, doctors, sanitation workers, delivery people, they all have those behaviors that just drive folks nuts, also. What is annoying or irritating about your profession/hobby? Share and you’re entered to win the December prize of a signed book, Starbuck’s card and Christmas treat. 

image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Irritating promotion about current book.

More about Dangerous Tidings.

15 responses to this post.

  1. I think those qualities make for good books for us readers to read! I love words, anyway, and word meanings. So shine on!

    Like

    Reply

  2. We’re a house full of authors, so I’ll discuss hobbies… quilting is a passion (so is knitting & crocheting).

    1. It’s impossible to have enough, so I’m always collecting fabric, yarn, thread, books, needles, and the latest doodad.

    2. It has to be perfect; if it isn’t, take it apart and start over (again & again).

    3. No one else seems to appreciate all the time and hard work you’ve put into your creations!

    Like

    Reply

  3. As a writer, I can relate to these, particularly to being picky about my words. If I think an uncommon word will better describe what I want to say, I will use it. People look at my children in a funny way because they know the phrase “duly noted” since I use that a lot.

    Also, as an accountant, I am picky about things balancing when it comes to money. I know that can get irritating sometimes.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Previously, I was a bank teller. They must be sharp with following the bank’s rules for how to do the many different transactions, be careful to count the money right, and be a good witness if you’re in a robbery. I was in a robbery but was not a good witness. The other areas, though, I did passably well.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Posted by Trixi on December 7, 2015 at 11:13 pm

    Stay-at-home mom & wife here….not sure what some of the “downfalls” are….but what irritates me is when someone “assumes” that I do NOTHING all day or that my job is insignificant or less that what it is. I can tell you for surety, my job is just as challenging sometimes as someone in the “working” world. Some of the attitudes of people really irk me, just because I don’t earn a wage, doesn’t mean I don’t have value as a person. I’m proud to have raised my kids myself, taking care of a household, balancing everything I have to do & having a loving husband to come alongside me. There’s challenges to my job too, and some not so glamorous things (grocery shopping…ugh) that come along with it, but I’m content in what I do and I feel like I am fulfilling the role God has for me at this stage in my life 🙂 To me, that’s all that counts!

    Thanks for letting me “vent” Dana…lol!

    Like

    Reply

    • I totally hear that, Trixi. I was an at-home mother for many years and I experienced that same stereotype. My hubby always said that I was “investing” in our kids so much more than could ever be equated to dollars and cents. We still feel the financial impact of those years when I did not work outside the home, but I firmly believe the years I spent raising my kiddos were priceless.

      Dana Mentink award winning fiction author http://www.danamentink.com

      >

      Like

      Reply

  6. Posted by Suzan Michet on December 7, 2015 at 8:50 pm

    I find myself talking to stranger’s children in the grocery store, encouraging them or chatting or even (gulp) sometimes correcting them. Intellectually I know it’s wrong from a “stranger danger” point of view, but working with kids every day I can’t seem to stop myself !

    Like

    Reply

  7. Posted by Jeannie on December 7, 2015 at 6:27 pm

    I’m not a writer, but I feel strongly about words and being correct also. Especially when I would email my children’s teachers! I have my English Major daughter proofread my book reviews!
    By profession, I am a registered nurse. We have to be particular about everything: assessment, documentation, medications, documentation, surgical consents, and documentation.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

