Holiday research trip….flip flops and ice skates required.

image

 

Since I’m deep in deadline zone, writing the fourth book in this series, thought I’d repost this gem!

 

Writing is tough job, of course, but someone has to do it, right?  What better way to research for my Pacific Coast Investigations series than to visit the Southern California Island resort town of Coronado, home to the historic Hotel Del. Here are a couple of coolio facts about Coronado which may or may not have made their way into Dangerous Tidings.

Coronado Island isn’t really an island. It’s a peninsula. Back (way back) in the day, it was used as a manly destination for jackrabbit hunting, and was home to an ostrich farm. Go figure.

2. Spreckels (yes, that Spreckels) started Tent City, a luxurious self-operating village of several hundred tents and thatched roof cottages south of the Hotel del Coronado. Tent City flourished for nearly four decades, until it was closed in 1939 to make room for the highway.

 

image

3.  Marilyn Monroe, Jack Lemmon and Tony Curtis filmed Some Like it Hot at the famed Hotel Del Coronado.
4. Today, during the Christmas season, you can enjoy the festivities on the Hotel Del Grounds, including the ice skating rink which sits immediately next to the beach. No joke!

Where do you like to spend your precious vacation time, peeps? I would love to hear your comments. 

Buy Dangerous Tidings

image

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by susanmsj on January 26, 2016 at 11:15 pm

    I don’t get to get away very often, so anywhere is usually fine with me. I like historic places, though. Although I don’t get away very often, I am planning a trip next month to go to Hawaii with my mother and sisters.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jolynn Rood on January 26, 2016 at 4:47 am

    I’d like to take a Tropical Vacation. The only Tropical place I’ve been, is Hawaii back 35 yrs. ago. I think it’s time to go to a Tropical vacation again!

    Like

    Reply

  3. I love the mountains so since we are only about 1.5 hours away from Asheville, NC I love to go there. They are so beautiful with that blue haze misting over them when we’re traveling on the blue ridge pkwy. The Tennessee Smoky mountains are another favorite; Seveirville, Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg areas are full of attractions. I can never seem to get enough of the awesomeness of the mountains.

    Like

    Reply

  4. I like vacations filled with tourist attractions, parks, and family along for the ride.
    We lean toward the historic, but our offspring prefer more modern things. I do like
    the idea of getting paid for my research for novels!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Posted by Suzan Michet on January 25, 2016 at 11:27 pm

    So if money is no object, I like to go to Florida with the family. There is so much to do – Universal Studios, Disney, beaches, NASA… When I’m on a budget I like to take the kids to my parents’ cottage.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

