Puppy Writer 101 – Tips from the dog

 

image

 

As I write this, I’ve got my helper Junie crammed next to me in my chair, tucked under my keyboard. (No doubt this will explain any typos and grammatical errors.) She’s new to the writing biz, but already she’s  mastered the three important points. Allow me to elucidate while my puppy helper licks a spot on the knee of my jeans.

 

1. Do it NOW! Yep, you may think you’re going to have time later to bang out that 1000 words or make notes about that blog you’ve been meaning to write. Don’t put it off because life is an uncertain thing, isn’t it? You never know when complications will occur (an emergency run for dog biscuits, relatives stopping over to coo at your adorable puppy, an  urgent need for a walk. ) Don’t procrastinate.

2. Take time to ponder. Yes, I know you have a million things to do and write. Me too. I’m working on two books at once, a blog, and several publicity campaigns. But you know what? Quiet time is key, too.  To pray, to ponder plots and themes, to deeply imagine characters. Some of the best writing work can occur when you are not in front of a keyboard. Pondering is important. Just ask Junie.

3. Pee happens. Ah me. In spite of all my learning about craft and technique, things are going to turn out wrong. Sigh. Passages will be flat. Characters will refuse to jump off the page. And what in the world happened to cause those middle chapters to sag like overstretched panty hose? Pee happens, as Junie will tell you. Delete. Rewrite. Clean it up. Move on. Do better next time.

You see? Puppies really are smart writers aren’t they? Do you have an animal companion? Would love to hear about him/her! Last week to enter the December contest for a signed book, gift card and treat. Winner announced Thursday! 

image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Info about Dana’s latest book

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by susanmsj on December 29, 2015 at 4:35 pm

    I have a 5-year-old calico cat and two 9-month-old calico kittens that I adopted because they looked just like my adult cat. We have a Dairy Queen theme going on with their names because I found the first one 5 years ago at Dairy Queen. Their names are Lizzie (short for blizzard), Dillie, and Sundie.
    The older one tends to be aloof, but the two little ones are snugglers.

    Like

    Reply

  2. My long-haired gray cat died this past summer. His name was Stormy and he was one of the best cats I’ve ever had. My whole family loved him! He was always so sweet and gentle and loving. Our favorite time together was in the summer when I would go sunbathe on our pool deck– he would curl up beside me & I would pet him while I read my book. Ah… good times. 😉
    I sure do miss that cat. 😥

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by Suzan Michet on December 28, 2015 at 9:48 pm

    My husband is out right now walking our dog Faith. She is a mutt, a rescue puppy. She has settled a little bit from when we got her, but still full of beans and mischievous. She is not allowed the run of the house yet, as she can chew on just about anything !

    Like

    Reply

  4. Posted by Pat on December 28, 2015 at 9:24 pm

    I HAVE A BLACK CAT NAMED SHEBA. YES, SHE IS THE QUEEN OF THE NILE! SHE WON’T LET ANYONE NEAR HER BUT ME. WHEN SHE SEES MY HUSBAND SHE RUNS! SHE IS IN LOVE WITH OUR CHRISTMAS TREE AS NOW SHE HAS ANOTHER HIDING PLACE. SHE KNOWS WHEN IT IS GOING TO STORM. SHE BELLY CRAWLS LIKE A G.I. AND GOES UNDER THE BED, COUCH, OR IN A CLOSET, IF A DOOR IS OPEN AND OF YES, NOW SHE GOES UNDER THE CHRISTMAS TREE. I WILL LEAVE THE TREE UP UNTIL EARLY JANUARY. I LOVE HER AND WHEN IT IS TIME FOR BED SHE WILL COME TO ME AND MEOW.
    DANA, DON’T YOU HAVE A BOOK COMING OUT ABOUT DOGS? I LOVE ANIMALS AND LOVE TO READ ABOUT THEM IN BOOKS OR ON FB.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Posted by Jolynn Rood on December 28, 2015 at 7:12 pm

    I have 2 border collies. 1 dog likes to take the dog toys outside, The other dog brings the toys back in. Both dogs are full of energy.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Roxy, a champion playmate and snuggler, makes me laugh every day.Her motto is if you’re going to do something, do it with enthusiasm.

    Like

    Reply

  7. I have a chihuahua named Mercedes. She is always by my side when I am home. I don’t know what I’d do without her.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

